News & Media

Top Aussies, Grand Slam champions and the cream of the ATP Tour’s Next Gen sign up for Sydney

4 December 2018, by Sydney International Tennis

Australia’s top ranked tennis stars, eight Grand Slam champions, eight of the world’s top 10 female players, and the cream of the ATP Tour’s Next Gen are destined for Sydney International 2019, in one of the most exciting line-ups assembled in the tournament’s 124-year history.

World No.1 and reigning French Open champion Simona Halep will headline the women’s field, along with defending Sydney champion and Wimbledon champion Angelique Kerber, and reigning US Open champion Naomi Osaka. 

They will be joined by 2017 US Open champion Sloane Stephens, two-time Wimbledon champion Petra Kvitova, fellow top 10 players Karolina PliskovaKiki Bertens, and Daria Kasatkina, Australian No.1 and Sydney 2018 runner-up Ash Barty (Qld), 2011 US Open champion Sam Stosur (Qld), 2017 French Open champion Jelena Ostapenko and 2016 French Open and 2017 Wimbledon champion Garbine Muguruza.

Reigning champion Daniil Medvedev is set to return to Sydney Olympic Park to defend his title against tournament top seed Kyle Edmund and 2018 Next Gen ATP Finals champion Stefanos Tsitsipas. They will be joined by Australian No.1 and Sydney International 2018 runner-up Alex de Minaur (NSW), fellow rising star Frances Tiafoe, and familiar faces including Australian Open 2008 runner-up Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, and Australian favourites Matt Ebden and John Millman.

Barty and De Minaur were at the Hyatt Regency for the Sydney International full field announcement and both were excited about returning to the scene of their first tour-level finals on home soil.

“I had a great 2018 Sydney International and can’t wait to go back in January,” Barty said.

“Reaching the final gave me a lot of confidence leading into the Australian Open and was an important part of my summer preparation. “With another strong field, I will have to play at my best to be there again on final day. A huge thanks to the Sydney fans who come and cheer for us, I hope to see you all again next year.”

The 2018 ATP Newcomer of the Year, De Minaur was also looking forward to returning to his home tournament, 12 months after contesting his maiden ATP Tour final.

“I am really looking forward to playing again in front of my home crowd,” De Minaur said.

“Last year was a fantastic week and the support I received was amazing and helped carry me through to the final. Hopefully I will receive similar encouragement in January. I look forward to seeing everyone out at Olympic Park.”

Sydney International Tournament Director Lawrence Robertson said Sydney sports fans can look forward to some spectacular matches in January.

“It’s hard to believe that we could surpass the quality of the field the Sydney International attracted in 2018,” Robertson said.

“With eight Grand Slam champions and eight of the world’s top 10 in the women’s draw, and the best up-and-coming talent on the ATP Tour confirmed to play, Sydney International 2019 is certainly going to be one of the most exciting in the event’s 124 year history.

“I’m delighted that so many of the world’s most talented players have chosen to come to Sydney in January, and I’m sure the fans share my excitement about witnessing our star-studded men’s and women’s fields firsthand.”


Sydney International 2019 full field


Kyle Edmund (GBR) No.14
Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE) No.15
Daniil Medvedev (RUS) No.16
Diego Schwartzman (ARG) No.17
Gilles Simon (FRA) No.30
Alex de Minaur (AUS) No.31
Lucas Pouille (FRA) No.32
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA) No.34 PR
Marton Fucsovics (HUN) No.36
Andreas Seppi (ITA) No.37
John Millman (AUS) No.38
Frances Tiafoe (USA) No.39
Jeremy Chardy (FRA) No.40
Martin Klizan (SVK) No.41
Adrian Mannarino (FRA) No.42
Nicolas Jarry (CHI) No.43
Malek Jaziri (TUN) No.45
Matt Ebden (AUS) No.46
Dusan Lajovic (SRB) No.48
Simona Halep (ROU) No.1
Angelique Kerber (GER) No.2
Naomi Osaka (JPN) No.5
Sloane Stephens (USA) No.6
Petra Kvitova (CZE) No.7 WC
Karolina Pliskova (CZE) No.8
Kiki Bertens (NED) No.9
Daria Kasatkina (RUS) No.10
Anastasija Sevastova (LAT) No.11
Elise Mertens (BEL) No.12
Aryna Sabalenka (BLR) No.13
Ashleigh Barty (AUS) No.15
Garbine Muguruza (ESP) No.18
Anett Kontaveit (EST) No.21
Jelena Ostapenko (LAT) No.22
Carla Suarez Navarro (ESP) No.23
Timea Bacsinszky (SUI) No.23 SR
Dominika Cibulkova (SVK) No.25
Camila Giorgi (ITA) No.26
Lesia Tsurenko (UKR) No.27
Su-Wei Hsieh (TPE) No.28