History Timeline

1885 Australian WJB Salmon claims the first NSW Open men’s singles title in five sets and Miss A Lamb captures the inaugural NSW Open women’s singles title.
1900 Australian Horace Rice wins the first men’s singles title of the 20th century.
1915 Early 20th century Australian tennis star Pearl Stewart claims her 4th NSW Open women’s singles title in straight sets.
1927 International Tennis Hall of Fame member Jack Crawford claims his first of seven singles titles.
1935 Australian Tennis Hall of Fame member Thelma Coyne Long wins her first championship and goes on to have an impressive career claiming her 5th women’s title a staggering 19 years later.
1949 International Tennis Hall of Fame member John Bromwich claims an impressive 7th men’s singles title. Perhaps best known for his Davis Cup heroics in leading the Australian comeback from a 0-2 start, Bromwich was also one of the first great players to use a two-handed forehand.
1956 Tennis legend Ken Rosewall crowned men’s champion for the first time. Considered to be one of the top male tennis players of all time, centre court at Sydney Olympic Park Tennis Centre is named in his honour.
1961 Australian tennis icon Rod Laver defeats fellow countryman Roy Emerson in an epic 5 set battle at White City. Laver incredibly completed the coveted Grand Slam (all four major singles titles in the same year) twice.
1970 American tennis legend and International Tennis Hall of Fame member Billy Jean King captures the women’s singles crown defeating her career rival Australian Margaret Court.
1973 Regarded among many as the greatest female tennis player of all time, Australian Margaret Court wins her eighth title on her way to amassing a record setting 91.49 career match winning percentage. Court was inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame in 1979.
1982 International Tennis Hall of Fame member Martina Navratilova wins her first of four women’s singles titles contributing to her open era record of 167 career singles titles.
1987 Australian John Fitzgerald captures his first and only title a year after being a member of the 1986 winning Australian Davis Cup squad.
1994 American Pete Sampras captures the men’s championship beating another legend of the game Ivan Lendl in straight sets.
1997 Swiss star Martina Hingis wins her first of three women’s singles titles and goes on to claim the Australian Open after two of them.
2000 Australian Lleyton Hewitt captures his first of four men’s singles titles at the tournament’s new home at Sydney Olympic Park Tennis Centre.
2002 Current tennis legend and Grand Slam record holder Roger Federer captures the men’s singles title.
2005 In an all Australian women’s singles final, Alicia Molik beats fellow Australian tennis star Sam Stosur in three sets.
2007 Local favourite Kim Clijsters captures her second women’s singles title.
2010 Cypriot Marcos Baghdatis crowned men’s champion for the first time.
2012 Victoria Azarenka crowned women’s singles champion and goes on to win the Australian Open
2013 Bernard Tomic wins his maiden ATP World Tour title; he also reached the final the following year yet lost to 2009 US Open Champion Juan Martin del Potro.
2017 Gilles Müller overcomes match point in his first-round match, going on to claim his first ATP World Tour title in Sydney – more than a decade after appearing in his first tour final.
2018 Alex de Minaur and Ashleigh Barty wave the Australian flag proudly, progressing to the men’s and women’s finals before falling to strong opponents in Daniil Medvedev and Angelique Kerber respectively.